Our team members

The fine members of our
scientific steering committee .


Prof Brajesh K Singh

President and Scientific Chair
Internationally recognised expert in the environmental microbiology.

Professor Brajesh Singh is an internationally recognised expert in the environmental microbiology, farm productivity and ecosystem functions.

His research interests encompass functional ecology, climate change and environmental biotechnology with particular focus on the role of microbes in ecosystem function and harnessing this knowledge for farm productivity and environmental sustainability.

He is currently Director of the Global Centre for Land-Based Innovation at Western Sydney University.


Dr Eleonora Egidi

Executive Director
Soil microbial ecologist.

Dr Eleonora Egidi is a soil microbial ecologist, her research focuses on investigating microbial biogeography, plant-soil-microbe interactions, and the mechanism underpinning microbial responses to environmental stressors.

She has led a number of initiatives to promote microbial ecology studies in Australia and China, organised and chaired several microbial ecology symposia at society conferences, and engaged with industry partners.

Eleonora is also committed to supporting and mentoring women is science, and has actively participated in the Athena Swan program during her appointments at both Western Sydney University and La Trobe University.


Manuel Delgado-Baquerizo

University Pablo de Olavide
Ramon y Cajal researcher

Dr Manuel Delgado-Baquerizo is an ecosystem ecologists with a strong multidisciplinary background in soil microbial ecology, global environmental change, paleoclimate, biodiversity and ecosystem functioning.

He is the main coordinator of two global collaborative networks, CLIMIFUN and MUSGONET, which are aimed to better understand the soil microbiome of terrestrial ecosystems across space and time.

Manuel is currently a Ramon y Cajal researcher, and leads the Biodiversity and Ecosystem functioning laboratory at the University Pablo de Olavide in Sevilla (Spain).

Samples from the Crop Microbiome initiative will be shipped to this lab, where they will be processes and analyzed.

Pankaj Trivedi

Assistant Professor
Microbiome of Plant System

My research goal is to elucidate and exploit the multitrophic interactions among and between microbiome and the plant environment that influence the health and productivity of managed and natural systems, especially in response to environmental change.

Areas of my research interest are broad and include (1) microbial ecology; (2) “omics” technologies; (3) plant-microbe-insect interactions; (4) predictive computational modeling; and (5) microbiome engineering.

Research projects in my lab will address the assembly, fitness and roles of plant, insect, and soil-associated microbiomes; how these are influenced by various biotic and abiotic factors; and what are their consequences on plant productivity, agro- ecosystems sustainability, and local and global level ecological processes.

By providing systems-level understanding of plant microbiomes the research will develop new computational tools and host/microbiome models that enable plant breeders and plant ecologists to predict beneficial interactions to achieve improved yields and plant resilience in changing environments.